Compulsory Subject

GCSE Combined Science

GCSE Combined Science Video

Why Study Science?

Science affects a very large part of your life – what you eat, what you wear and what you use. The Science GCSE course encourages you to consider the way in which Science is applied to technological developments and will help you to formulate views and opinions about these issues e.g. whether or not you would want your children to be vaccinated, etc.

Course Content & Development of Expertise

This Science course leads to a dual award GCSE grade. The GCSE combined science course covers the three main subject areas Biology, Chemistry and Physics. Students will study and be assessed on two units of Biology, two of Chemistry and two of Physics which will lead to a combined double GCSE grade.

The KS4 Science course begins in Year 9. In Year 10 all students follow the Combined Science modules. These introduce topics such as genetics, atomic structure, energy and forces. These are followed using a mixture of practical work, investigation and discussion. In Year 11, students continue to build up their knowledge; there are topics on organ systems, chemical reactions and radioactivity.

This Science course gives all of the background required for students who may wish to take Biology, Chemistry or Physics at Advanced Level.

Career Pathways

Combined science students can take Biology, Chemistry or Physics at Advanced Level. It can also lead on to a range of vocational courses. It is not necessary to have taken triple science to access these courses.

These courses lead to a wide variety of degrees and employment in engineering, the medical, environmental and research industries, to name but a few.

They can also lead to courses which qualify a student for practical and technological work in a wide range of industries, from health and sports to medical and work as a technician.

Qualification Information

Compulsory Subject

Qualification: GCSE Science

Awarding Body: AQA


Assessment Structure

The exam board is AQA Trilogy. All the examinations are taken at the end of Year 11. There are six examinations each of 1 hour 15 minutes, two Biology, two Chemistry and two Physics. These are available at foundation tier (grades 55-11) and higher tier (99-44). Students must complete all assessments in the same tier.

There are required practical assessments that will need to be completed and are assessed in the written examinations.

Ask about this Subject

If you have any questions about this subject, please fill in the form below and we will get back to you as soon as we can.

9 + 12 =

Skip to content
Latest Coronavirus advice for parents and carers  Find out more